Autonomous organization of culture of Udmurt Republic "State Circus of the Udmurt Republic"


The first circus in Izhevsk was opened in 1895 on Bazarnaya Square near the flour market (at the crossroads of Gorkogo and Borodina streets in a place of an old building of the Mechanical Institute). The full-time working wooden building was built at the entrepreneur A.G. Koromyslov’s private expense. The circus hosted performers from Vienna, Paris, Berlin, and also held fighters’ championships. This circus was burned during the Civil War.

In the summer of 1926 at the square near the Sennoy market the permanent building of the circus appeared that seated 1 500 spectators. That was a wooden clapboard building with stove heating; it was initially lighted with oil lamps. The circus was called “Kolart”.

In 1939 the circus fell into disrepair, and it was decided to erect a stone building on its place. The architect P. Popov took as a basis of the project the first stone circus in Russia by Ciniselli in St. Petersburg; he added a portico with a bas-relief of an acrobat and a tamer and increased the height of the dome up to 20 meters. Due to its size, comfort and originality, the circus had been considered to be the best in the country for quite a long time. A new building of the circus was opened on November 29, 1943. The first spectators were the wounded soldiers undergoing treatment and rehabilitation in the hospitals of Izhevsk.

In 1990 the building was declared unsafe and on 14th of January the last performance in the circus was held. When artists were taking a curtain call, the band struck up the legendary march “Farewell to Slavianka”. On December 29, 1999 a planned bomb blast was set off, bringing down the old walls of the circus. On January 17, 2000 the first block of the new unique circus complex was laid.

The modern circus is done in a hi-tech style. Not only does the original design distinguish it, but also the high technical level of the equipment, and a spacious hall which holds 1750 people. The circus complex in Izhevsk is unique and it knows no equals in Russia.


136 Krasnoarmeiskaya Street

Department of information and analytics of the Izhevsk City Administration © 1998-2020

Any usage of web page materials should be accompanied by a reference (in the Internet – hyperlink), author enter